What’s in a name?

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”
Romeo and Juliet (II, ii, 1-2)

Choosing a name for our sweet baby has been far more challenging then choosing a name for our son, Lucas, was. Our first pregnancy was filled with so much anticipation, urgency, and unknowns and choosing a name happened so quickly.

With this pregnancy my husband and I have been surprised by our feelings of patience and peace. I think I am most surprised by my own lack of urgency throughout this pregnancy as I find myself so often saying, “there is plenty of time for that” and “no need to rush”. Lord knows, I’m not a patient person! I know that relaxed attitude is going to bite me in the butt in my last trimester, as I’m going to feel like I need to accomplish a million tasks in a short period of time.

Heading into our ultrasound to find out the gender of this little one, we didn’t have a single name for either gender that could be considered a real contender. We walked into the appointment with an excited big brother Lucas predicting that we were having a girl and adamantly declaring that her name would be “Annie”. We walked out of the appointment cracking up at our 3 year old’s foreknowledge of the sweet baby “girl” wiggling in my belly. He was adamant from the moment we announced our pregnancy that we were having a baby girl, and he was absolutely right.

After learning we were having a girl, we began thinking about the “perfect” name. Nathan and I were a little less sweet on the name “Annie” but thought it would be extra special to incorporate it into her name somehow. It will be a sweet story to tell our daughter one day that her brother helped name her before we even knew she was a “she”.

Lucas bears the same middle name as his Daddy, and his Daddy’s daddy, so we felt that incorporating my middle name, “Lyn”, into her name somehow would also continue that special tradition. Through the process of discussing names, Daddy arrived at “Katie” and declared it his favorite.

After a few weeks of trying different variations of name combinations we arrived at the perfect name; one that incorporates Lucas’s sweet name for his sister, my middle name, and daddy’s favorite name.

We would like to share with you our final pick:

Katelynn Annette

Kate- to use a variation of Daddy’s favorite.

Lynn- to use my middle name.

Annette- to incorporate Ann in some fashion to allow Lucas to call her “Annie” and it still make sense.

Katelynn means “Pure” and Annette means “Grace”. It is my fervent prayer that this precious baby girl growing within me exemplifies both of these attributes in the most beautiful of ways.

I cannot think of a more lovely combination of words then “Purely Gracious”….

2 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

Leave a Reply

